jump to navigation

Lady In The Water 23 July 2006

Posted by Sasha in Films, Gallivanting Episodes, The Rambler.
trackback

1I think I’m turning into an M. Night Shyamalan groupie. It was only a few weeks prior the showing of his new film did I see a documentary about him and his films that my cousins and I got into talking about the theories presented in it. Then upon hearing about this brand-spanking new film, I knew I had to see it. Ha.

He’s known for his other films like Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs and The Village. People who know me, I’m such a scared-y cat. They know how the film, Sixth Sense, freaked me out. [I couldn’t sleep alone for the next three months following!] Among his popular films, it was only Signs that I haven’t seen yet. Incidentally, did you know that all these films were shot within a 30-mile radius of Philadelphia? Well, that’s a bit of trivia for you. Hehehe.

Anyway, last Friday, we headed to the Greenbelt 3 cinemas and saw Lady In The Water. I can’t say I had the grandest time scaring myself because I wasn’t at all. Go figure. [It wasn’t meant to be a scary movie, Sash. Heh.] There are some memorable lines and the one that became the favourite was, “Mr. Heep is a playa’!” And Night‘s cameo wasn’t a cameo at all! [He always does a cameo in all his films like Hitchcock.] He was actually part of the cast! He wasn’t bad — he actually did good considering. And I have to applaud him for a great story well-told. He’s uber-talented.

After that we just hung out at Temple till 3am and talked about how guys leer at girls in clubs, pointing out how they seem to ask for it. Heh. And how guys try to get the girl and fill their little black books. Hahaha.

Comments»

1. absolutelyfab - 24 July 2006

Thanks for the info. I’ve been thinking about seeing this movie as well, but I am a scaredy cat too! Now that I know it’s not that kind of movie, I’ll probably check it out.

2. theparody - 24 July 2006

No worries, Terri .. err — absolutelyfab. 🙂 Once you do see it, do come back and let me know what you think of it.

3. Connie - 27 July 2006

Go watch Signs!! It’s not that scary ;o)

4. alistair - 28 July 2006

1. I hear Lady in the Water suxxorz big time. Shymalan only keeps getting worse (after Sixth Sense).

2. You know Dickoy!?

5. theparody - 28 July 2006

Connie: I plan to! Hahaha. 🙂

Alistair: Dunno what to say to that. Dickoy as in Juan Magdaraog? Well, I got to meet him one time and now we’re blog buddies. Hehehe. 😉

6. fool45 - 4 August 2006

I remember realizing the twist in The Village. I was like… OMG! I enjoyed that movie not because I was scared shitless (why do people think Shyamalan makes horror films), but because I got blind-sided by one of the greatest twists in movie history, IMHO. 🙂

7. theparody - 5 August 2006

Rico: How would you categorise his films then? I know they’re not same as the Wes Craven movies but still —


Leave a Reply

