jump to navigation

Sunday at the Town 27 June 2006

Posted by Sasha in Current Events, Family & Friends, The Rambler.
trackback

Sunday at Alabang Town Center, I had a late lunch at Italianni’s with my highschool friends. It was actually a feat that the rest of us who are still here in Manila are present.

It was just last Friday that I decided to schedule this meetup. It was a first since it’s always been Mel who does the inviting. But this time since she and her husband might be leaving for the US next week, I decided to take over.

A quick shout out to the very preggy, Mel and her husband Jon, our unanimously elected big sis, Candice, Atty. Ricky Moldez II and his wife, Ai, who happens to be a lawyer, too! The always late, Jo, next is Joanne, our resident accountant, and the “prodigal” friend, Jason. Hehehe. And oh, Ricky’s 3 year-old son, Third, who complained that he had an itchy bum. Teehee.

Actually, Mel already mentioned this meet up on her blog but I thought it’ll be cute to reminisce bits about it that’s so classic!

Care for some unstoppable dalandan juice?

It was Jo’s doing. He actually asked me if the juice [pointing to his glass] was “unstoppable”. I almost choked, I thought, he must be kidding, right? Oh, you have to understand… it’s something you can actually expect from him. I just said, you mean, refillable, right? Laughing. I dared him to order a refill using the description, “unstoppable”. And he did! We tried [but failed miserably] to control our laugh. Good thing the server was a good sport. Hahaha.

“What? You left for Australia again and you didn’t tell me?”

Said Joanne. Apparently she wasn’t informed that I had left the second time. Hahaha. They teased me like crazy on how “last minute” my goodbye was last January. They found out that I was leaving when I sent them an sms informing them that I was already in the airport. Candice called and she couldn’t believe it. I was all defensive about it since on my end, it was unexpected as well! I can’t help it if my booking fell through the last minute, can I?

“Who’s pregnant? What? You’re pregnant?”

Another one from Jo, he clearly had no clue that Mel was almost 6 months pregnant. I had to make room for him to see Mel’s growing tummy. So this brings me to the next one —

“The problem with you two is that perhaps the Group list you use to send messages, must just included both your names! How come the rest aren’t getting any of the messages you claim to have sent?”

That’s Candice teasing Mel and Ricky to having their own “group list”. Hahaha.

After lunch, we walked around a bit and I did a little shopping — I bought my cranberry lip balm and concealer with tea tree oil at The Body Shop — before we had our caffeine dosage at Starbucks and to continue our walk down memory lane.

“I’ve got ESPN!”

Candice gave me a blank stare probably thinking that I’ve gone nuts. I was laughing uncontrollably and I was like, are you there yet? Haven’t you seen Mean Girls? It’s a joke for crying out loud! Hahaha. The others were teasing her and she cussed like crazy when she got it, she kept telling me how she thought I lost my marbles. She said something like, “I almost lost my respect for you, Sash. ESPN when it should’ve just been ESP… I knew you’re better than making quips like that!” Okay, I guess I have to work on my dumb blonde act more. 😉

And yea, I bombarded Joanne with direct questions about the current status of her lovelife, hitting the target, unknowingly — hence, the ESPN quip. It was hilarious!

We spent over 4 hours together and if only each of us didn’t have to make it to other appointments, we’d probably hang out a couple of hours more! I wish Donna and Ethylene were with us. I love these people. 🙂

Comments»

1. erik - 28 June 2006

hurrah for friends and nostalgia lotions (you apply them, like a cream.. and then, off you go…).

magic..!

2. theparody - 3 July 2006

uh, lotions are like cream, right? But yea, I will always celebrate REAL friends! 🙂

3. nuninuninu » busy weekend - 14 July 2006

[…] *edit v2* for more details of our lunch get together… aminado ko, ito mas magaling na writer talaga sa kin… another one of shaui’s blog. […]

4. busy weekend « my (un)tamed world - 16 November 2007

[…] *edit v2* for more details of our lunch get together… aminado ko, ito mas magaling na writer talaga sa kin… another one of shaui’s blog. […]


Leave a Reply

