jump to navigation

Talk of the Town 20 May 2006

Posted by Sasha in Books, Films, The Rambler.
trackback

davinciIt’s the movie, The Da Vinci Code.

They started showing it in theatres a couple of days ago and several people have already come up to me saying that they’re interested to see the movie. Heh. I can’t help but wonder why.

I wonder how many have indeed read the book? Ah, well. Anyway, my mom just informed me that it earned around PhP 11 Million on its first day of showing. Gah. People seem to have responded out of curiosity due to all the controversies surrounding its release in my country. Hahaha. I really wouldn’t be surprised. Filipinos are known to be highly curious about anything — even about things that doesn’t concern them. 😉

ruleAnyway, I’ve read the book and had found it wanting. Friends who’ve also read it, echoed my sentiments and referred Dan Brown’s Angels and Demons for a better read. Hmmm. Okay. I’ll probably give him another chance since I do enjoy reading. But honestly, I enjoyed the book, “The Rule of Four” more. That one has a similar feel to the Da Vinci book but it’s a lot more informative. What makes it better, I guess, is the actual existence of the book by Francesco Colonna, Hypnerotomachia Poliphili, which is the center of the story. They wrote that it was only in the year 2005 that the book was first published in the English language and after reading the book, I did see a copy being sold in a bookshop for a friggin PhP 1500! Ack. Crazy.

Via Matt’s blog, I discovered that they have a quaint webquest for it. Go try it. It’s easy. You can finish it in less than 10 minutes. Hahaha.

Oh, yea. If things work out, I am scheduled to see the said movie tonight. Bleh.

Comments»

1. inlightsyrup - 23 May 2006

I enjoyed reading The Rule of Four! I’m an historically frustrated Florentine 😉 I found the authors’ prose writing a bit sophomoric, though, but nonetheless impressive knowing that they’re first-time novelists. I think I’ll never forget that bit on the history of Mardi Gras.

Do you like historical fiction? Try reading Iain Pears’ “An Instance of the Fingerpost”. 🙂

2. theparody - 24 May 2006

Hey, Connie. 🙂 You aren’t the first to tell me that it was poor writing. I have to agree with what you said, it’s pretty raw. But the way they delivered the “facts” may seem boring for most but heck, at least it wasn’t hurried or something, you know what I mean? I am fascinated with historical fiction. Uh, anything about history actually. Especially if it also involves philosophy. Hahaha. Thanks for the suggested reading. I’ll definitely keep my eyes open for it. 🙂

3. Debbie Gelbard - 26 January 2007

I read your comments about The Rule of Four on your website, and thought you would probably also enjoy the novel I have just published. So, I hope you don’t mind my recommending it to you:

My novel is called Global Dawn and you can find it on Amazon or Barnes & Noble under ISBN 0-9724586-7-0.

Global Dawn is the extraordinary tale of Reuven Sofer, a land surveyor, fated to be the agent of global change. The story is wrapped in alchemy and mysticism according to ancient Biblical and Mayan prophecies. It immerses us in its hero’s passions for women, music, philosophy and technology on the colorful artistic fringe of modern-day Israeli society. The Global Dawn project reaches a breathtaking climax on the mystical soil of Jerusalem, despite its creator’s painful struggle against the stern realities of daily life.

Reuven’s desire to raise planetary awareness worldwide by exposing people to a universally aligned data resource carries echoes of NASA’s Digital Earth project featured in a dedicated Foreword by Dr. Timothy Foresman, former leader of the Digital Earth at NASA.

Like The Rule of Four and the Da Vinci Code, Global Dawn features powerful discoveries uncovered by deciphering ancient codes and mystic formulae embedded in classic, artistic finds. I can’t tell you more without spoiling the plot for you.

I do hope you’ll follow up my suggested lead, however, and will enjoy reading Global dawn. I look forward to your reactions, in due course.

Best regards,

Debbie Gelbard

“…if you don’t have a dream,

how you gonna have a dream come true?”


Leave a Reply

