jump to navigation

Prisms 7 March 2006

Posted by Sasha in Philosophy & Paradox, The Brooder, The Rambler.
trackback

I was out in the garden having a cigarette, listening to Michelle Branch’s Something to Sleep to, when I thought of Prisms.

I had my eyes closed when I noticed that I was seeing red. Then I put my hand over my closed eyes, it was black. I knew then that light which was trying to get through my eyelid. It was a trivial thing but it amazed me.

Prism defracts white light and breaks it to the colours of the rainbow: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet. And I’m curious to know why it was red that I saw. It was a given why it was black when I covered my already closed eyes, twas due to opacity.

I really enjoy the moments when I am bothered by thoughts like these. And I like Wikipedia, too.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

